From Under a Rock

Last night, I was texting one of my friends in Chicago pretty late, and I’ve determined that I’m just going to live under a rock. Real life is too exasperating to justify the amount of energy expended in trying to sort it all out.

I know that doesn’t sound very enterprising. And in reality I’m going on with all the usual things– today I’m finishing up a fellowship application (fingers crossed) and I have to turn my room into the semblance of a space that people might actually live in, because another friend is coming to stay with me next week, over her spring break. Currently, most of my things are still in boxes, and my room has no shelving. We’ll get there eventually.

So in practicalities, life is going as usual, but emotionally I’m going under my rock. It’s a safe place there.

Happily, this blog fits under the rock as well, particularly since I’ve been feeling guilty at having abandoned it for… oh dear, has it been three weeks?? I think it has. I have no idea where February went; it seemed to slip by at an extraordinarily fast pace. To make it up to any readers who noticed my absence, I’ve decided that I will commit to doing one full week where I post every day. I haven’t determined yet if I’ll do the marathon next week or the week after– like I mentioned, I have a friend staying next week, and it would hardly be fair to her if I glued myself to my laptop. It depends, then, on how much work I might be able to get done in advance. Stay tuned for an announcement later this week! I’d also like to invite suggestions for topics. I have a few ideas in mind, but I’d love to hear what you want to see. Let me know in the comments!

In other news, while I’m doing this life update, I am almost done with Middlemarch. I know, it’s been forever since I last did a book review. Middlemarch is an incredibly long novel, but I think I’m down to the last hundred pages. You’ll see it featured here soon, along with the long-promised review of A Room of One’s Own, and also The Drunken Botanist, which is a nonfiction book on plants and how they turn into alcohol. One of the bartenders from work lent it to me, and I’ve enjoyed it tremendously.

That’s all for now, but let me know what ideas you might have regarding material for the marathon! I can’t wait to plan the week!

Yours,

Madeleine

Leave a Reply

