I Feel Famous

And I will continue to feel famous for at least the next couple hours, which is why I’m writing this now, before my giddiness wears off.

About a month ago, I mentioned that I had recently joined a new writing website called Inkitt (original post here). It’s a slow-moving community, and at this point my presence there is irregular. I’ll stop on, leave a couple reviews, check the forums to see if any friends are there, and then go about my life. Today I remembered that I had received a couple of emails from Inkitt’s notification system, so I logged in to check. I’m so glad I did.

I received the following review on my short story “Swimming in the Rhone”:

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 17.16.44

Holy wow. I’ve received praise before, but nothing remotely close to this. This is a comprehensive breakdown of my writing, and shockingly, it doesn’t find the story wanting. Granted, there’s another review on the same story which gives a couple of stylistic pointers. I know that my writing doesn’t suit everyone, that something can always be tweaked and improved. A review like this, though, is a huge boost. It’s a good reason to keep on writing on the days when nothing seems to come out right.

But wait. It gets better.

I read this review and I smiled a lot and texted a few friends about it. Then, when I went to check the forums, I saw a new group had been published:

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 17.26.27

Do you see what I see? Dr. Joshua Grasso. That’s the guy who left my review. Apparently, he’s a big shot on the website.

So, I started digging into him a little bit. He has an English Ph.D. He’s a professor at a university in Oklahoma. He also runs what appears to be a successful blog– it’s not in quite the same style as what I’m doing here, but I’m sure I could learn from his example.

The review means so much more once the reviewer is definitively credible. Any thorough and thoughtful review makes me happy, but now I know that I have the good opinion of someone whose opinion is more broadly recognised as valuable.

I’ve already thanked Dr. Grasso for his review. He also shared “Swimming in the Rhone” on his Twitter feed, and he added it to his “Favourite Stories” reading list, which has a total of only ten stories on it. As a rookie blogger with a tiny Internet presence, I greatly appreciate his promotion, and I’d like to reciprocate in the small way that I can. For anyone interested, Dr. Grasso’s blog can be found here.

I’ll also be posting “Swimming in the Rhone” in a post here on Ampersandras later this week, but if you’d like to check it out on Inkitt, you can find it here.

Okay, rant over. I’m famous.

Leave a Reply

